Vietnam Weekly
The Vietnam Weekly Podcast
Cooking Vietnamese Food with Andrea Nguyen
0:00
-31:20

Cooking Vietnamese Food with Andrea Nguyen

How to help your lockdown cravings

If you’re anything like me, you are really missing Vietnamese food during lockdown. I’m a decent home cook, but with all street food shut down, I have been craving my favorites, particularly cơm tấm and bún thịt nướng.

With no end in sight to social distancing regulations, I talked to cookbook author Andrea Nguyen of Viet World Kitchen to get some pointers on making Vietnamese food at home.

We covered the basic ingredients you’ll need in your kitchen (4:30) before discussing a range of dishes, including cơm tấm (8:25), canh (10:52), bún thịt nướng (14:13), tofu (17:19), món kho (19:04), phỏ (23:22), gỏi (25:32) and bánh mì (28:03).

I can’t wait to try these out, and I also invite listeners to check out Andrea’s cookbook Vietnamese Food Any Day, which makes many aspects of this wonderful cuisine entirely approachable for the average home cook.

Share

0 Comments
Vietnam Weekly
The Vietnam Weekly Podcast
Every week, Ho Chi Minh City-based journalist Mike Tatarski sits down with a guest doing unique, important work in - or about - Vietnam to get a panoramic view of this dynamic, increasingly important country.